Thursday, October 11, 2007

City of York (UK Parliament constituency)
The City of York is a constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election.

Following their review of parliamentary representation in North Yorkshire, the Boundary Commission for England have recommended the creation of two new seats for the City of York.
Both existing City of York and Vale of York seats will be abolished and replaced by two new constituencies, namely;

York Central
York Outer Boundary review
A borough constituency consisting of the city of York has been represented in every Parliament since the Model Parliament of 1295. Until 1918, it returned two MPs; since then it has returned one. Until 1997, when its official name became City of York, the constituency was usually simply called York.