Monday, September 3, 2007

United Kingdom Government
This article is part of the series: Politics and government of the United Kingdom
Her Majesty's Government (HMG or HM Government), or when the monarch is male, His Majesty's Government, is the formal title used by the United Kingdom government, based at 10 Downing Street in London. It is called "Her/His Majesty's Government" since in the UK executive authority is theoretically vested in the monarch and exercised through his or her ministers. In effect, the government is an executive authority consisting of the Sovereign's ministers. In Commonwealth usage, the term "government" does not relate to Parliament or the Courts. As such the term government refers to the executive branch alone.
Her Majesty's Government is headed by the Prime Minister and also includes the Cabinet and junior ministers.

Sovereign: Queen Elizabeth II

  • State Opening of Parliament
    House of Lords

    • Lord Speaker: Baroness Hayman
      House of Commons

      • Speaker: Michael Martin
        Prime Minister's Questions
        Her Majesty's Government
        The Privy Council

        • Prime Minister: Gordon Brown
          Chancellor: Alistair Darling
          Foreign Secretary: David Miliband
          Home Secretary: Jacqui Smith
          Lord Chancellor: Jack Straw
          Full list of members
          Government departments
          The Civil Service
          Her Majesty's Loyal Opposition

          • Leader: David Cameron
            Shadow Cabinet
            Courts of the United Kingdom

            • Courts of England and Wales
              Courts of Northern Ireland
              Courts of Scotland
              Constituent countries
              Politics of Scotland

              • Scottish Parliament
                Scottish Executive
                Politics of Wales

                • National Assembly for Wales
                  Welsh Assembly Government
                  Politics of Northern Ireland

                  • Northern Ireland Assembly
                    Northern Ireland Executive
                    Politics of England

                    • English Regional Assemblies
                      Reserved matters
                      Local government
                      Greater London Authority
                      Elections: 2001 - 2005 - 54th

                      • Parliament constituencies
                        Political parties
                        Human rights
                        Foreign relations
                        EU Politics Usage

                        Cabinet of the United Kingdom
                        Departments of the United Kingdom Government
                        Her Majesty's Government Communication Centre
                        Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council
                        Her Majesty's Most Loyal Opposition
                        State Opening of Parliament
                        Northern Ireland Executive
                        Scottish Executive
                        Welsh Assembly Government