Sunday, February 3, 2008

Parliament of Malta
This article is part of the series: Politics and government of Malta
The Parliament of Malta, the House of Representatives (Il-Kamra tar-Rappreżentanti), has 65 members, elected for a five year term in 13 5-seat constituencies with a possibility of rewarding bonus members for the popular largest party which doesn't succeed in getting absolute majority in parliament. The president is elected for a five year term by the parliament. Malta uses single transferable vote to elect its MP and local councillors. Even though transferrable preferences should help third parties since independence the Maltese electorate has consistently voted in two dominant political parties and effectively created a two party system.

Constitution of Malta

  • Eddie Fenech Adami
    Prime Minister

    • Lawrence Gonzi
      Deputy Prime Minister

      • Tonio Borg
        House of Representatives
        Political parties
        Elections: 2003
        Local councils
        EU Politics
        Foreign relations