Wednesday, January 2, 2008

In the 2006/2007 season, Werder Bremen claimed the 'winter champions' title, being the first place team in the Bundesliga before the winter break period. Bremen have scored a total of six goals in one game three times (against VfL Bochum, FSV Mainz 05, and Eintracht Frankfurt). Bremen encountered a tough champions league draw, against last years champions FC Barcelona, and English powerhouse club Chelsea FC. Werder Bremen surprised many avid football viewers, by shocking Barcelona 1-1, and defeating Chelsea 1-0 at the Weserstadion during Champions League group stage. In the return leg of the group stage at the Nou Camp Estadio in Barcelona, Bremen were defeated 0-2, thus seeing them take the third place in the group, and relegated to the UEFA Cup, where they were to face Ajax Amsterdam. They won the first leg 3-0 in the Weserstadion, and despite losing 3-1 in Amsterdam, Werder Bremen progressed with an aggregate score of 4-3, to face Celta Vigo in the next round. Their domestic cup run was short-lived however as they suffered a stunning exit to FK Pirmasens in a penalty shootout.
The club started the new year positively, beating Bayer Leverkusen 2-0 away from home. This result, however, was followed by 3 consecutive Bundesliga losses, to Schalke 04, VfB Stuttgart and Hamburger SV. The aggregate victory over Ajax Amsterdam brought some respite, and the club has recently recorded an away draw at Mönchengladbach and a home victory against Bochum to close the gap on Schalke 04, who suffered 2 defeats in the same period, at the top of the league. They also passed to the next round of UEFA cup by defeating Celta de Vigo as they won 0-1 in the first leg and also winning in the second leg with 2:0 in the Weserstadion. In the semi-finals, they held AZ Alkmaar to a 0-0 first leg draw and turned on the style in the second leg to rout the high-flying Dutch team 4-1 to win with the same score on aggregate. They face RCD Espanyol in the semi-finals. (Three of the semi-finalists were all Spanish La Liga teams, whilst Werder Bremen was the only non-Spanish team.) RCD Espanyol emerged 3-0 victors in Barcelona, and won second leg despite Bremen's scoring the first goal. Striker Miroslav Klose was sent off in the 19th minute of the second game, dashing all hopes. Espanyol came back from a goal down to win 2-1 (aggregate 5-1).
Miroslav Klose, Werder Bremen's star striker, was sold to Bundesliga rivals Bayern Munich at the end of the 2007 season for 12.5 million.

SV Werder Bremen 2006/2007 season
Companies that Werder Bremen currently has sponsorship deals with include :

Citibank - Main sponsor
Kappa (company) - Official sponsors
Beluga Shipping - Official sponsors
Coca-Cola - Official sponsors
PSD Bank - Official sponsors
EWE TEL - Trying sponsor Sponsorship
Werder Bremen has long-running friendships with Rot-Weiss Essen and FC Kaiserslautern, who both currently play in the 2. Bundesliga. They hold a long-term enmity with Bayern Munich, and have developed a recent, but intense, feud with FC Schalke 04, whose title-hungry ex-manager Rudi Assauer, has lured away several of Werder's top players (including Ailton [now with MSV Duisburg], Mladen Krstajic, Frank Rost [now with Hamburger SV], Oliver Reck [now retired], and Fabian Ernst) with lucrative contracts.
The side prides itself on being one of the few port cities in the Bundesliga – currently the only others are Hamburger SV and Hansa Rostock: the toot of a ship's whistle celebrates every Werder goal. This regional pride has its drawbacks, though, as opposing fans regularly taunt Werder Bremen fans as Fischköppe (fishheads), alluding to offensive smell and limited intelligence.
Being in the north of Germany, Bremen has attracted a number of Scandinavian players.
Finally, Werder Bremen is also known for its level-headed environment. In contrast to many other cities, where the local sides are often subject to intense media attention, players and trainers here are usually left in relative peace. Bremen's reputation is that of sensible, respected and financially healthy club and it is popular as one of the Bundesliga's "second-most-loved clubs" for fans who first follow their own local side.

Club Culture

German Champions: 4

  • 1965, 1988, 1993, 2004
    German Cup: 5

    • 1961, 1991, 1994, 1999, 2004
      European Cup Winners Cup: 1

      • 1992
        German League Cup: 1

        • 2006
          German Supercup: 3

          • 1988, 1993, 1994
            UEFA Intertoto Cup: 1

            • 1998 Honours

              As of 19 September, 2007.

              Current playing squad

              Flag of Brazil Ailton
              Flag of Germany Richard Ackerschott
              Flag of Germany Klaus Allofs
              Flag of Germany Mario Basler
              Flag of Germany Günter Bernard
              Flag of Norway Rune Bratseth
              Flag of Germany Marco Bode
              Flag of Germany Jens Todt
              Flag of Germany Uli Borowka
              Flag of Germany Dieter Burdenski
              Flag of Greece Angelos Charisteas
              Flag of Turkey Ümit Davala
              Flag of Germany Dieter Eilts
              Flag of Germany Christian Schulz
              Flag of Germany Günter Hermann
              Flag of Austria Andreas Herzog
              Flag of Germany Horst-Dieter Höttges
              Flag of France Valérien Ismaël
              Flag of Croatia Ivan Klasnic
              Flag of Germany Miroslav Klose
              Flag of South Korea Lee Dong-Gook
              Flag of Egypt Hany Ramzy
              Flag of Serbia Mladen Krstajić
              Flag of France Johan Micoud
              Flag of Germany Benno Möhlmann
              Flag of Germany Frank Neubarth
              Flag of Japan Yasuhiko Okudera
              Flag of Germany Frank Ordenewitz
              Flag of Peru Claudio Pizarro
              Flag of Germany Uwe Reinders
              Flag of Germany Karl-Heinz Riedle
              Flag of New Zealand Wynton Rufer
              Flag of Germany Thomas Schaaf
              Flag of Germany Willi Schröder
              Flag of Germany Arnold Pico Schütz
              Flag of Paraguay Nelson Valdez
              Flag of Germany Rudi Völler
              Flag of Germany Mirko Votava
              Flag of Germany Tim Borowski
              Flag of Germany Torsten Frings
              Flag of Brazil Diego
              Flag of England David Watson [1] Famous players

              Felix Magath
              Otto Rehhagel
              Thomas Schaaf Team trivia